back to inside FABC




 In the Conferences 2008


January - March


Appointed: Archbishop Joseph Marino, Apostolic Nuncio to Bangladesh; Bishop Vincent Barwa, from auxiliary bishop of Ranchi to bishop of Simdega, India; Fr. Fexlix Anthony Machado, bishop of Nashik, India; Fr. Michael Akasius Toppo, bishop of Tezpur, India; Fr. Abraham Kackanatt, bishop of Muvattupuzha (Malankarese), India; Fr. Anthony Poola, bishop of Kurnool, India; Bishop Girulfus Kherubim Pareira, SVD, from bishop of Weetebula to bishop of Maumere, Indonesia; Fr. Joseph Hii Teck Kwong, auxiliary bishop of Sibu, Malaysia; Bishop Thomas Chung An-zu, from auxiliary bishop of Taipei to bishop of Chiayi, Taiwan R.O.C.; Bishop John Tong Hon, from auxiliary to coadjutor bishop of Hong Kong.

Succeeded: Bishop Joseph Minj, bishop of Simdega, India

Resigned: Archbishop Paul Ri Moun-hi, archbishop of Taegu, South Korea; Bishop Joseph Nguyên Van Yên, bishop of Phát Diêm, Vietnam.

Retired: Archbishop Paschal Topno, SJ, archbishop of Bhopal, Inida; Bishop Thomas Bhalerao, SJ, bishop of Nashik, India; Bishop William Leonard D'Mello, bishop of Karwar, India; Bishop Patrick Paul D'Souza, bishop of Varanasi, India; Bishop Symphorian Thomas Keeprath, bishop of Jullundur, India; Bishop George Mamalaserry, bishop of Tura, India: Bishop Benjamin J. Almoneda, bishop of Daet, Philippines; Bishop Anton Pain Ratu, S.V.D., bishop of Atambua, Indonesia; Bishop Joseph Wang Yu-jung, bishop of Taichung, Taiwan R.O.C.

Died: Archbishop emeritus Marianus Arokiasamy (+79), Madurai, India; Archbishop emeritus Michael Rozario (+81), Dhaka, Bangladesh; Bishop emeritus Mathias Kappil (+79), Punalar, India; Bishop emeritus Baptist Mudartha (+95), Allahabad, India; Bishop Augustine Cheong Myong-jo (+72), Pusan, South Korea.


back to top



April - June



Appointed:   Archbishop Osvaldo P. Padilla, Apostolic Nuncio to Korea and Mongolia; Archbishop Ambrose Madtha, Titular Archbishop of Naissus and Apostolic Nuncio to Côte d’Ivoire, Africa; Rev. Monsignor Paul Fitzpatrick Russell, Apostolic Nuncio to Taiwan R.O.C.; Archbishop Miguel Maury Buendia, Titular Archbishop of Italica and Apostolic Nuncio to Kazakhstan; Father Henry D’Souza, bishop of Bellary, India; Bishop Romulo Tolentino dela Cruz, from bishop of San Jose de Antique to bishop of Kidapawan, Philippines; Bishop Jose Rojas Rojas Jr., from bishop of  Caceres (Nueva Caceres) to bishop of Libmanan, Philippines; Fr. Johannes Maria Trilaksyanta Pujasumarta, bishop of Bandung, Indonesia.


Re-elected: Archbishop Orlando B. Quevedo, OMI, Secretary General, Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (FABC).


Re-appointed: Fr. Raymond O’Toole, SFM Assistant Secretary General, Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (FABC)


Resigned: Bishop Prospero Nale Arellano, bishop of Libmanan, Philippines


back to top



July - December



Appointed:  Archbishop Miguel Maury Buendia, Apostolic Nuncio to Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan: Archbishop Antonio Mennini, Apostolic Nuncio to Uzbekistan; Fr. Francis Antonusamy, bishop of Kumbakonam, India; Archbishop Daniel Acharuparambil, O.C.D., Apostolic Administrator of Cochin, India; Bishop Chacko Thottumarickal S.V.D., from bishop of Jhabua to bishop of Indore, India; Fr. Francis Kalist, bishop of Meerut, India; Bishop John Lee Hiong Fun Yit-yaw, from bishop to archbishop of Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia; Fr. Johannes Maria Trilaksyanta Pujasumarta, bishop of Bandung, Indonesia; Fr. Petrus Boddeng Timang, bishop of Banjarmasin, Indonesia; Fr. Silvester San, bishop of Denpasar, Indonesia; Bishop Jose Rojas Jr., from auxiliary bishop of Caceres (Nuevo Caceres) to bishop of Libmanan, Philippines; Fr. Gerardo Alimane Alminaza, auxiliary bishop of Jaro, Philippines; Fr. Joseph Amangi Nacua, OFM Cap., bishop of Ilagan, Philippines; Fr. Cosme Hoang Van Dat, SJ, bishop of Bac Ninh, Vietnam;  Fr. Laurent Chu Van Minh, auxiliary bishop of Hanoi, Vietnam; Fr. Pierre Nguyen Van Kham, auxiliary bishop of Thành-Phô, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; Fr. Basilio Athai, auxiliary bishop of  Taunggyi, Myanmar; Bishop Matthias Ri Iong-hoon, from auxiliary to coadjutor bishop of Suwon, Korea.


Retired: Bishop George Marian Anathil, S.V.D., bishop of Indore, India.; Bishop Patrick Nair, bishop of Meerut, India.


Resigned: Bishop Prospero Nale Arellano, prelate of Libmanan, Philippines.


Died: Bishop Joseph Das (+78), bishop-emeritus of Berhampur, India; Bishop Hippolytus Anthony Kunnunkal, OFM Cap. (+87), bishop-emeritus of Jammu-Srinagar, India; Bishop Eduardus Sangsun S.V.D (+65), bishop of Ruteng, Indonesia.


back to top


  • Some parts of this site are still under construction, please bear with us..

Other web-based functionalities will be included which will help provide information to users of the Web site and would also allow users to interact and participate in the fulfillment of the FABC’s objectives.

FABC Papers are designed to bring the thinking of Asian experts to a wider audience and to develop critical analysis of the problems facing the Church in Asia. The opinions, however, do not necessarily represent the official policies of FABC or its member Episcopal Conferences. FABC Papers on-line is a special service of the Union of Catholic Asia News

see papers