back to inside FABC




 In the Conferences 2019


January - March

Appointed: Fr. Rex Andrew Clement Alarcon as Bishop of Daet, Philippines; Archbishop Prakash Mallavarapu, Archbishop of Visakhapatnam as Apostolic Administrator of Srikakulam, India; John Cardinal TONG Hon, Bishop Emeritus of Hong Kong as Apostolic Administrator of Hong Kong, China; Fr. Marvyn Abrea Maceda as Bishop of San Jose de Antique, Philippines; Fr. Stephen Antony Pillai as Bishop of Tuticorin, India; Bishop Oscar Jaime Llaneta Florencio, Apostolic Administrator of Military Ordinariate of the Philippines as Bishop of the same Ordinariate; Fr. Fidelis B. Layog as Auxiliary Bishop of Lingayen-Dagupan, Philippines; Fr. Cosme R. Almedilla as Bishop of Butuan, Philippines; Fr. Leo M. Dalmao, CMF as Prelate of Isabela, Philippines.


Succeeded: Coadjutor Bishop Joseph Trân Van Toàn of Long Xuyên, Viet Nam as Bishop of the same diocese.


Retired: Bishop Aleixo das Neves Dias, S.F.X., Bishop Emeritus of Port Blair, India; Bishop Yvon Ambroise, Bishop Emeritus of Tuticorin, India; Bishop Laurent Chu Van Minh Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus of Hà N?i, Vietnam.


Resigned: Bishop Joseph Trân Xuân Tiéu, Bishop Emeritus of Long Xuyên, Viet Nam.


Died: Bishop Michael YEUNG Ming-cheung, (72+), Bishop of Hong Kong, China; Bishop Charles Soreng, S.J., (84+), Bishop Emeritus of Hazaribag, India; Bishop Dinualdo Destajo Gutierrez, (79+), Bishop Emeritus of Marbel, Philippines; Bishop Nicolas Mollenedo Mondejar, (94+), Bishop Emeritus of San Carlos, Philippines.


back to top



April - June

Appointed: Bishop Joseph Son Sam-seok, Auxiliary Bishop of Busan, South Korea as Bishop of the same diocese; Fr. Marco Tin Win as Archbishop of Mandalay, Myanmar; Bishop Derek Fernandes, Bishop of Karwar, India as Bishop of Belgaum, India; Bishop Dennis Cabanada Villarojo, Auxiliary Bishop of Cebu, Philippines as Bishop of Malolos, Philippines; Bishop Shyamal Bose as Coadjutor Bishop of Baruipur, India; Fr. Peter Michiaki Nakamura as Auxiliary Bishop of Nagasaki, Japan; Fr. Joseph Thykkattil as Bishop of Gwalior, India; Fr. Vasyl Hovera as Apostolic Administrator of Kazakhstan and Central Asia, Faithful of Byzantine Rite; Fr. Roberto Orendain Gaa as Bishop of Novaliches, Philippines; Fr. Jose R. Repadas III as Bishop of Iligan, Philippines; Bishop Telesphore Bilung, S.V.D., Auxiliary Bishop of Ranchi, India as Apostolic Administrator of Jamshedpur, India; Fr. Indrias Rehmat as Bishop of Faisalabad, Pakistan.


Succeeded: Bishop Samuel Irenios Kattukallil, Coadjutor Bishop of Pathanamthitta (Syro-Malankara), India as Bishop of the same diocese; Bishop Yoohanon Theodosius Kochuthundil, Coadjutor Bishop of Muvattupuzha (Syro-Malankara), India as Bishop of the same diocese.


Retired: Bishop Joseph Suren Gomes, S.D.B., Bishop Emeritus of Krishnagar, India; Archbishop Nicholas Mang Thang, Archbishop Emeritus of Mandalay, Myanmar; Bishop Antonio Realubin Tobias, Bishop Emeritus of Novaliches, Philippines; Bishop Yoohanon Chrysostom Kalloor, Bishop Emeritus of Pathanamthitta (Syro-Malankara), India; Bishop Abraham Youlios Kackanatt, Bishop Emeritus of Muvattupuzha (Syro-Malankara), India.


Resigned: Bishop Dominic Ryoji Miyahara, Bishop Emeritus of Fukuoka, Japan.


Died: Bishop Simon Kaipuram, C.M., (65+), Bishop of Balasore, India; Bishop Geevarghese Timotheos Chundevalel, (91+), Bishop Emeritus of Tiruvalla (Syro-Malankara), India; Bishop Carlito Joaquin Cenzon, C.I.C.M., (80+), Bishop Emeritus of Baguio, Philippines.


back to top










  • Some parts of this site are still under construction, please bear with us..

Other web-based functionalities will be included which will help provide information to users of the Web site and would also allow users to interact and participate in the fulfillment of the FABC’s objectives.

FABC Papers are designed to bring the thinking of Asian experts to a wider audience and to develop critical analysis of the problems facing the Church in Asia. The opinions, however, do not necessarily represent the official policies of FABC or its member Episcopal Conferences. FABC Papers on-line is a special service of the Union of Catholic Asia News

see papers